Free Consultation 336-660-2280 336-660-2280

The Greensboro Defense Attorneys You Want When Facing a Rape Charge

The help you need when you are suspected or charged

An accusation of rape can put you in a downward emotional spiral. You are confronted on all sides — by investigators, your accuser and your family. Who will be on your side?

Clifford & Harris, PLLC is a leader in Guilford County rape defense cases. We have a long history of standing by the accused to protect their rights and to ensure the whole story comes to light.

A rape conviction is a felony and comes with extremely serious punishment. The prosecution will be staffed with attorneys who only prosecute sex crimes. It is all they do. Do you dare trust your future and your freedom to an attorney who lacks experience in this specific area of criminal law?

Experience you can trust

Our attorneys have more than 65 combined years of experience. We are highly competent rape defense attorneys who understand complex evidence and can anticipate prosecutors’ strategies. We pick them apart to ensure you receive the best defense possible.

Our clients include college students who got in over their heads, people accused of date rape or using the date-rape drug, those accused by someone they know and those accused by strangers.

Degrees of rape under North Carolina law

North Carolina defines many categories of sexual assault and sets forth the punishment for each. Rape under state law is broken down by:

  • First-degree rape (Class B1 felony) — When the alleged victim is under 12 years old and the defendant is at least 13 and at least four years older than the victim; or when a victim of any age is assaulted by force, against his or her will, and the alleged perpetrator used a weapon, caused serious injury or was assisted by another perpetrator
  • Rape of a child by an adult (Class B1 felony) — When the alleged victim is under 13 and the accused is at least 18 years old; conviction on this charge requires a mandatory minimum 300-month sentence and satellite monitoring for life
  • Statutory rape (Class B1 felony) — When the alleged victim is 13, 14 or 15 years old and the defendant is at least six years older than the victim, except when the two are lawfully married; it is a Class C felony if the defendant is more than four but less than six years older than the victim
  • Second-degree rape (Class C felony) — Forcible rape or rape of a mentally or physically incapacitated person

A B1 felony has a wide penalty range, from 144 months to 300 months for a defendant with no criminal record, to up to life in prison without parole. A Class C felony ranges from 44 to 92 months for a first offender.

Rape penalties under federal criminal law are equally severe.

How Clifford & Harris, PLLC can help

With penalties this harsh, it is critical to act immediately to protect yourself. You have the right NOT to speak to investigators. We strongly encourage you not to until you have talked to an attorney and the attorney can be present.

We represent you at every stage, consistently pursuing the best possible outcome.

If there is a conviction or a guilty plea, judges have some leeway in sentencing. It is critical that we present mitigating circumstances to ensure sentencing is fair.

Exemplary representation in high-stakes rape cases in Greensboro

When your liberty is in jeopardy, do not settle for just any criminal defense attorney. Clifford & Harris, PLLC sets itself apart by providing experienced, comprehensive representation that achieves results. Contact Clifford & Harris, PLLC at 336-574-2788 or online for a free consultation. We negotiate payment plans that provide you with options.