AGGRESSIVE DEFENSE FOR GREENSBORO ASSAULT CASES
Guilford County criminal defense attorneys on your side
Assault, also known as battery, is a pretty broad term. In North Carolina, you could be charged with assault for punching a neighbor in the nose, for attacking someone with a knife and everything in between. Even just cocking your arm back in a threatening manner can be considered assault.
Lawyers at Clifford & Harris, PLLC understand the risks of an assault conviction and the fear our clients have about their futures. We have the experience and tenacity to defend against all manner of charges and to ensure a fair outcome.
Each case brings unique facts. We investigate each one in order to build the best possible defense. We not only get your side of the story, we interview witnesses, examine police documents and evaluate all evidence.
Misdemeanor assault cases
Because an array of conduct can be charged as an assault, North Carolina law classifies assaults by their severity and punishment, from misdemeanor to felony.
Simple assaults, batteries and affrays are Class 2 misdemeanors punishable by up to 60 days in jail, depending on your prior record.
It is a Class A1 misdemeanor:
- To cause bodily injury with a deadly weapon
- For an adult male to assault a female
- To assault a child under 12
- To assault someone with whom you have a personal relationship, in the presence of a minor
An A1 misdemeanor is punishable by up to 150 days in jail, depending on your prior record.
Depending on the severity of the battery, domestic violence may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.
Felony assault cases
Felonious assault with a deadly weapon also has different degrees and penalties:
- Assault with a deadly weapon with the intent to kill and causing serious injury is a Class C felony punishable by up to 231 months in prison.
- Assault with a deadly weapon without the intent to kill but inflicting serious injury is a Class E felony punishable by up to 88 months in prison.
- Assault with a deadly weapon with intent to kill without causing serious injury is also a Class E felony punishable by up to 88 months in prison.
You face enhanced punishments if the victim falls into a special category, including sports officials, public officers, police officers, firefighters, public transit operators, school employees, the elderly and the disabled.
Successfully challenging assault charges in North Carolina
Each attorney at Clifford & Harris, PLLC in Greensboro possesses the knowledge and skill to vigorously defend against assault charges. You owe it to yourself to speak with one of our lawyers for free about your case. Contact us at 336-574-2788 or online to see how we can help.