Attorneys Help Prevent Driver's License Suspension
When your driving privileges are at risk in Guilford County
Did you know that there are more than 75 ways you can lose your driver's license in North Carolina, and not all of them involve driving?
The attorneys of The Clifford Division of Clifford Clendenin & O'Hale, LLP in Greensboro know state driving laws and how best to prevent you from losing your license. Since 1973, our lawyers have challenged attempts to revoke clients' driving privileges and helped restore licenses that were suspended due to points accumulation, failure to pay traffic tickets, failure to pay child support, mental disqualification and many other factors.
Too many points equals lost driving privileges
In North Carolina, points are added to your driving record if you are convicted of certain traffic violations, including speeding and DWI. Our state has a strict points system, and you could have your license suspended if you accumulate 12 points within a three-year period.
If you are caught driving with a suspended or revoked license, you could face severe penalties, including a mandatory 12-month additional suspension. It is essential to hire a knowledgeable lawyer to help you negotiate the legal process. At The Clifford Division, we help fight the initial ticket and any subsequent effort to suspend your driving privileges.
Pursuing full or limited reinstatement
Our attorneys understand that driver's license reinstatement is a priority. Since every suspension is unique, we tailor our strategy to the facts of the specific case.
It is important to keep in mind that some North Carolina violations, such as a conviction for possession of a fake ID, prohibit driver's license reinstatement or limit driving privileges before the end of a mandatory suspension period. Some violations, however, allow for continued driving under certain restrictions, after the first 10 days of suspension.
North Carolina DMV suspensions
DMV license suspensions include:
- Driving while impaired (first offense) — one year
- Driving while impaired (second offense) — four years
- Driving while impaired (third offense) — permanent
- Felony death by vehicle — permanent
- Misdemeanor death by vehicle — one year
- Speeding in excess of 55 mph, at least 15 mph over legal limit (first offense) — 30 days
- Speeding in excess of 55 mph, at least 15 mph over legal limit (second offense) — 60 days
- Speeding in excess of 55 mph, at least 15 mph over legal limit while attempting to avoid arrest — one year
- Willful racing with another motor vehicle — three years (vehicle seized)
- Watching, betting on or loaning a car for prearranged racing — three years (vehicle seized)
- Willful refusal to submit to a blood or breath test — three years
- Speeding plus reckless driving (same incident) — 60 days
- Two charges of reckless driving committed within 12 months — one year
- Obtaining a license or learner permit under false pretense — one year
Additional grounds for suspension
The state Department of Motor Vehicles also issues suspensions for the following:
- Two convictions of speeding over 55 mph within a 12-month period
- One conviction of speeding over 55 mph and one conviction of reckless driving within a 12-month period
- A suspended court sentence or part of a sentence mandating that you must not operate a motor vehicle for a specified period of time
- A conviction for speeding over 75 mph
You may have the right to a hearing in the judicial district where you live. Our attorneys can represent you at this hearing to ensure you put forth the best arguments for reinstatement. We also can appeal any unfavorable DMV decision within 30 days in Superior Court.
Greensboro, NC attorneys protect your right to drive
If you believe your suspension penalty is unreasonable, you should consider seeking legal advice from a qualified traffic ticket attorney.
The Clifford Division works diligently to help you avoid a driver's license suspension. If you cannot avoid suspension, we help you obtain limited driving privileges so you can get back to work and on with your normal activities.
Contact The Clifford Division at 336-574-2788 or online for a free consultation to discuss your options.
Cases We Handle
- Criminal cases in North Carolina District Court and Superior Court in Guilford County, including Greensboro and High Point
- 50B and 50C protection order cases in both North Carolina District Courts in Guilford County, including Greensboro and High Point
- Federal criminal cases
- Misdemeanors in the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of North Carolina in Greensboro, Winston-Salem and sometimes Statesville and Durham
- Felonies in all four cities and on a case-by-case basis in any federal court in the United States
- Federal civil forfeiture cases, post-conviction work and investigations
on an individual basis
- Private prosecutions in state court on a case-by-case basis